Alcohol: Is It Vegan?


Alcohol...It's not all created equal!

Kind of an absurd thought, am I right? Who would have thought that animal by-products would be used in or during the alcohol creation process.

Aside from obvious ingredients like honey and egg whites, makers also use things like isinglass (fish bladder) or gelatin to grab on to the impurities, which makes it easier to filter, but, there are many ways to do this, without the use of animals.

Unfortunately, these items aren't

listed on the label because alcohol is typically exempt from the labeling requirements of other food products.

There is, however, a great website called Barnivore that has an extensive vegan beer, wine, and liquor guide. If you are curious about a certain brand, you can quickly search it on their website.

For now, I have compiled a list of a few of the more popular items.

As we head in to the Holiday season, let's all make sure to be mindful of what we're drinking in addition to what we're eating! And as always, PLEASE drink responsibly!

BEER​​​​​​​

  • Budweiser (except their Clamato)

  • Coors and Coors Light

  • Miller Lite, High-Life, & Genuine Draft

  • Pabst Blue Ribbon

  • Sierra Nevada Pale Ale

WINE

  • Charles Shaw (red wines only)

  • Sutter Homes

  • The Vegan Vine

  • China Bend

  • Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)

  • Moet & Chandon

LIQUOR

  • Bourbon

  • Canadian Whiskey, Irish Whiskey, Tennessee Whiskey, and Scotch Whiskey

  • Gin

  • Rum

  • Schnapps

  • Tequila

  • Vodka

© 2019 by jennwilliams.co